New to
Medical Marijuana?

Georgia’s House Bill 1 (Haleigh’s Hope act) was signed into law in 2015 to create the Low THC oil registry. Patients and families who are registered with the State program can possess up to 20 ounces of Low THC cannabis oil (<5% THC oil).

What is Low THC Oil?

According to the Georgia Code: The term “low THC oil” means an oil that contains an amount of cannabidiol and not more than 5 percent by weight of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), tetrahydrocannabinolic acid, or a combination of tetrahydrocannabinol and tetrahydrocannabinolic acid which does not contain plant material exhibiting the external morphological features of the plant of the genus Cannabis.

Low THC oil is a product that contains the resin oil from the cannabis plant that is extracted and infused in a carrier oil. Many cannabinoids can be extracted from the cannabis plant and combined and infused with the intention of addressing various medical conditions. In Georgia, there is a limit of 5% THC, and an amount of cannabidiol (CBD) equal to or greater than the amount of THC.

What disease and conditions are covered by Georgia’s cannabis law?

  • Cancer, when such diagnosis is end stage or the treatment produces related wasting illness or recalcitrant nausea and vomiting
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, when such diagnosis is severe or end stage
  • Seizure disorders related to diagnosis of epilepsy or trauma related head injuries
  • Multiple sclerosis, when such diagnosis is severe or end stage
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Mitochondrial disease
  • Parkinson’s disease, when such diagnosis is severe or end stage
  • Sickle cell disease, when such diagnosis is severe or end stage
  • Tourette’s syndrome, when such syndrome is diagnosed as severe
  • Autism spectrum disorder, when (a) patient is 18 years of age or more, or (b) patient is less than 18 years of age and diagnosed with severe autism
  • Epidermolysis bullosa
  • Alzheimer’s disease, when such disease is severe or end stage
  • AIDS when such syndrome is severe or end stage
  • Peripheral neuropathy, when symptoms are severe or end stage
  • Patient is in hospice program, either as inpatient or outpatient
  • Intractable pain
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder resulting from direct exposure to or witnessing of a trauma for a patient who is at least 18 years of age

Interested in getting
a Low THC Oil Registry Card?

To obtain medical marijuana in Georgia, you must apply for a Low THC Registry card. To get this card, the physician who is treating the patient submits the two forms, waiver form (patient and physician sign) and physician certification form.

    To obtain medical marijuana in Georgia, you must apply for a Low THC Registry card. To get this card, the physician who is treating the patient submits the two forms, waiver form (patient and physician sign) and physician certification form.

    Who qualifies for a Low THC Registry Card?

    • Adults with one or more of the eligible conditions and resident of Georgia for at least one year.
    • A legal guardian of an adult with one or more of the eligible diseases who has a resident of Georgia for at least one year.
    • Parents or legal guardians of a child who has one of the eligible diseases, and has been a resident for at least one year, or was born in Georgia and is under one year of age.

    Patients and caregivers of patients who believe they may be eligible should consult with their physician about the possibility of obtaining a card.

    If approved by the physician, the patient or patient’s caregivers’ information will be entered by the physician into DPH’s secure “Low THC Oil Registry” and a card(s) will be issued.

    There are two forms as part of the application the physician sends to the state. The first is a waiver form and the second is a physician certification form. The physician will keep the original forms in the medical record, but patients can request a copy. The physician submits the information electronically to the Georgia Department of Public Health.

    Patients and caregivers will be notified when the cards are ready for pickup (within 15 business days) from one of the 20 public health offices geographically spread around the state.
    Cards cost $25 and are valid for two years from the date issued.

    Under House Bill 324, the Georgia Access to Medical Cannabis Commission will oversee the growing, manufacturing, and dispensing of low THC oil in Georgia.

    Can I buy Low THC oil now?

    No, the law only allows card holders to legally possess up to 20 fluid ounces of Low THC Oil in a pharmaceutical container labeled by the manufacturer indicating the percentage of THC.

    What are the penalties for violating the law?

    Currently, possession of any form of cannabis by an unauthorized person is and remains a violation of state and federal law. The possession of 20 fluid ounces or less by anyone that does not comply with the Low THC Oil Registry is a misdemeanor

    4720 Chamblee Dunwoody Rd.
    Dunwoody, GA 30338